Award-Winning and Nominated Young Adult Books

Check out the following sites for books that have won or been nominated for these prestigious awards:

Nutmeg Book Award
Each year a committee of Connecticut children’s librarians nominates ten books in the categories of Elementary, Intermediate, Teen, and High School, and children in grades 2-12 are encouraged to read them and vote for their favorite – a book award chosen by kids!

Alex Award
This award highlights books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults ages 12 through 18.

Edwards Award
The Margaret A. Edwards Award is an American Library Association (ALA) literary award that annually recognizes an author and "a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature"

Morris Award
The William C. Morris YA Debut Award honors a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating impressive new voices in young adult literature.

Printz Award
The Michael L. Printz Award is an American Library Association literary award that annually recognizes the "best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit".

Nonfiction Award
The YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction honors the best nonfiction book published for young adults (ages 12-18) during a November 1 – October 31 publishing year.

Coretta Scott King Book Award
The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.

Pura Belpré Medal
The Belpré Award is presented annually to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.

Odyssey Awards
This annual award is given to the producer of the best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States.

Schneider Family Award
The Schneider Family Book Awards honor an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.

Association of Jewish Libraries Children’s Book Awards
AJL’s awards draw attention to the best in Jewish literature and scholarship each year, encouraging publication and purchase of high-quality Jewish writing.

American Indian Youth Literature Award
The awards were established as a way to identify and honor the very best writing and illustrations by and about American Indians. Books selected to receive the award will present American Indians in the fullness of their humanity in the present and past contexts.

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature
The goal of the award is to honor and recognize individual work about Asian/Pacific Americans and their heritage, based on literary and artistic merit.

Additional awards and book lists by the Young Adult Library Services Association can be found here.